The EuroHPC Joint Undertaking is a legal and funding entity that enables the EU and the EuroHPC JU participating countries to coordinate their efforts and pool their resources to make Europe a world leader in supercomputing.

This will boost Europe's scientific excellence and industrial strength, and support the digital transformation of its economy while ensuring its technological sovereignty.

Norway is one of the founding members of the EuroHPC JU, which compromises 32 participating states from across Europe.

LUMI Supercomputer

One of the pan-European pre-exascale supercomputers, LUMI, is located in the Kajaani data centre in Finland. The supercomputer is hosted by the LUMI consortium, in which Norway is a member together with nine other European countries.

LUMI is the fastest supercomputer in Europe and the third fastest globally (the Top500 list published in May 2023). LUMI is also the seventh greenest supercomputer on the planet (the Green500 list published in May 2020). In addition, LUMI is also one of the world’s leading platforms for Artificial Intelligence (A/I) and Machine Learning (ML).

LUMI Resource Allocation

Ownership of the LUMI resources is split evenly, with half belonging to the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking and the other half to the LUMI consortium partners. Norway holds a share of these resources, reflecting our contribution to the funding of LUMI.

The Norwegian quota of LUMI resources is allocated by the Resource Allocation Committee, making LUMI an extension of national resources. Norwegian researchers can apply for these resources through regular calls. Additionally, they are eligible to apply for the EuroHPC JU share and other EuroHPC systems.

Access to LUMI

If you wish to use LUMI, you apply for access through the regular Sigma2 call for resources before each period starts (1 April and 1 October).

Please contact us at if you want to know more about LUMI and how to get access.

LUMI thus provides access for Norwegian researchers to a high-end system approximately 80 times the capacity of the current largest Norwegian system.

A peer-review process allocates the LUMI shares belonging to the EuroHPC JU. In addition, up to 20 % of the EuroHPC resources will be available to industry and SMEs. Please get in touch with the Norwegian Competence Centre for HPC for more information about industry use.

LUMI also has a channel for urgent computing. This, so-called “director’s share”, type of allocation allows to grant of some of LUMI’s resources on an ad hoc basis for time- and mission-critical simulations.

The EuroHPC supercomputers:
  • LUMI (Finland)
  • Leonardo (Italy)
  • MareNostrum 5 (spain)
  • MeluXina (Luxembourg)
  • Karolina (Czech Republic)
  • Discoverer (Bulgaria)
  • Vega (Slovenia)
  • Deucalion (Portgal)