Resource Allocation Committee

Applications for computing, storage facilities and user support resources for projects are evaluated by a Resource Allocation Committee (RFK). The RFK is composed of leading Norwegian scientists from relevant user groups who are appointed by the Sigma2 board.

The RFK evaluates the proposals and awards access to Sigma2 computing and storage resources twice per year. Proposals for access must demonstrate scientific excellence and scientific need that the resources requested will be used efficiently. 

Sigma2 carries out the administration for the RFK and supports the Comittee in evaluation of the proposals and the allocation of the resources.

Members of the current RFK (2019 - 2021)

Alexander Nederbragt Department of Biosciences UiO
Kristin Hagen Department of Linguistics and Scandinavian Studies UiO
Anne Cathrine Elster Department of Computer Science NTNU
Ingve Simonsen Department of Physics NTNU
Lars Ailo Bongo Department of Computer Science UiT
Benjamin Pfeil Geophysical Institute UiB
Øystein Godøy Norwegian Meteorological Institute  
Kirstin Krüger Department of Geosciences UiO
Marit Sandstad   CICERO
Ingeborg-Helene Svenum    NTNU/SINTEF
RFK Guidelines

Guidelines for the Resource Allocation Committee

The allocation process for computing and storage resources follows a strictly regulated and defined process. Access to the infrastructure is subject to criteria that are defined in a general policy and detailed guidelines for resource allocation.

Guidelines for the Resource Allocation Committee

A short summary of the criterias:  

  • scientific merit of the research activity
  • the feasibility of using the infrastrucure
  • the type of usage
  • guarantees for proper curation of the data collections

The decisions of the RFK are further guided by the following:

  • Quality and completeness of the application
  • Quality and state-of-the-art of the solution methods and software
  • Scientific value and impact, e.g., internationally competitive research
  • Expected measurable output in number of publications and students (master and PhD).
  • Demonstrated need for access to leading-edge compute or storage facilities
  • New user groups and disciplines are given higher priority
  • The request for resources (type and amount) must be reasonable. E.g., projects that repeatedly overestimate their needs (i.e., use considerably less resources than they applied for) in successive allocation periods will be reduced in size.

Also, aspects of security, confidentiality, privacy, ownership, provenance and formats of the data, restrictions for access to the data, documentations and overall consistency of the supplied information  are considered. Shortage of capacity is handled by prioritization of the proposals or other forms of compromize

The Resource Allocation Committee reserves the right to alter the request for resources, especially the capacity of the requested facilities is insufficient. In such case, an application may be reduced in size or assigned to another facility. The request for resources may also be altered if the request appears to be too large and/or the need for the amount of resources is not sufficiently motivated.

RFK Mandate

The Mandate for the Resource Allocation Committee

The Mandate for the Resource Allocation Committee for e-infrastructure was adopted 17 Februar 2015 and is valid from allocation period 2015.1.

RFK Mandate


Previous RFK Committee

Replacing the Research Council of Norway as the formal owner of the resource allocation process of national e-infrastructure resources, the Board of Directors appointed the first Sigma2 Resource Allocation Committee in February 2015. 

Members of the RFK 2015 - 2018

  • Professor Knut Børve (chair), Department of Chemistry, UiB
  • Senior Lecturer Lex Nederbragt, CEES, UiO
  • Senior Researcher, Øystein Godøy, Norwegian Meterological Institute
  • Professor Noel Keenlyside, Geophysical Institute, UiB
  • Senior Engineer Dag Endresen, Natural History Museum, UiO
  • Senior Researcher Ole Anders Nøst, Akvaplan-Niva
  • Professor Ingve Simonsen, Department of Physics, NTNU
  • Senior Engineer Anders Nøklestad, Dep. of Lingustics and Scandinavian Studies, UiO